Yiddishisms for the New Year

There are a lot of things I miss about living in New York; the museums and restaurants, walking everywhere, and seeing and hearing Jews everywhere I go.

This week, I’m back in New York for an end of summer family vacation.  We’re staying at a friend’s apartment in Brooklyn (Michael I know you’re reading this and thank you again!!) and on our way in we saw a family of hasids renting a car for what I’m sure was to be a lovely summer Shabbat in the country.  We talked about the similarities between how they dress and the Amish back home in Ohio.

Today we’ll be seeing some of my family for brunch and I’m sure we’ll be having a bagel with a schmear.  I look forward to talking with my aunts, uncles, and cousins and listening to their accents when they plotz over the new grandbabies in the mischpoche and kvetch about the state of the economy and our fakakta leaders in Washington.

Our identities are reflected by what we wear, what we eat, and how we speak.  This year, let’s commit to making OWU more Jewish by speaking a bit of Yiddish, or as my Great Aunt Gert refers to it, “talking Jewish.”  (According to her experience, Hebrew is for Israelis and Rabbis, Yiddish is Jews.)  Here are a few resources to get started.

Yiddishisms from the folks who do bagels and lox best – Russ & Daughters

 

I bet you didn’t know that Dick & Jane speak Yiddish…

And the Yiddish Book Center.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

